It is finished!

Thoughts on the last words of Jesus.

The last words of Jesus dying upon the cross; “‘It is finished’ And he bowed his head and gave up his spirit” (John 19:30). I have never really finished anything in my life. At work I am always leaving things in a state of continual progress. Jesus had said earlier in his life that he was about his father’s work and that he had work to do from his father. The work completed is the work of our salvation, the atonement for all mankind. At this point I must put confidence in the ability of Jesus to complete that which I can never complete. Then my life becomes one of faith and confidence in the overcoming victory won by God in Christ. This is stated most profoundly in my favorite verse Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ and it is no longer I who live but Christ lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself up for me. I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness comes through the law, then Christ died needlessly”.

About maaark

Carpenter, student, interested in beliefs and cultures of the world View all posts by maaark

Leave a Reply

