Pandemic Panic

What if germs spread through all the rooms, of this big old world

What if a virus smothers this city, and it is not so safe, for us to breathe

What if my favorite restaurant closes because the people will not come

What if the churches are vacant because the people just do not want to share, the air

What if my school says that online is the only safe school, and the classes are gone

What if my bank, with the friendly tellers, hangs a sign, “drive through only”

What if I go to my favorite coffee shop to relax and write, but the doors are closed

What if the clerks at the grocery store all wear masks and rubber gloves

What if pandemic panic invades our safe spaces, leaving us nowhere to run

What if I my friends will not touch, shake hands, or hug

What if I call my grandparents but there is no answer

What if the increase of disease will not cease

What if my fears are real

Will I stay home alone, isolate and groan?

Or embrace the day, find a way, to rejoice, share, and love?

About Maaark

Carpenter, student, passionate about beliefs and cultures of the world, and writing for a better world View all posts by Maaark

Leave a comment